His Guilt by Shelley Shepard Gray Review
His Guilt by Shelley Shepard Gray
Series: The Amish of Hart County #2
Published by Avon Inspire on July 4th 2017
Pages: 304
Also in this series: Her Secret, The Gift, His Risk
Also by this author: Her Secret, An Amish Summer, The Gift, Love Held Captive
Purchase on: AmazonWalmartTargetBooks A MillionThe Book DepositoryBarnes & Noble
My Rating: four-half-stars
About this Book

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Shelley Shepard Gray delivers the next novel in her Amish of Hart County series—a suspenseful tale of an Amish man who will risk all to protect the woman he loves.
Mark Fisher has returned home to Hart County, determined to put the past behind him. Two years ago, after being wrongly accused of assault, he left the Amish community, though never forgot his home. When the one person who had helped him through his rough times asks for help, Mark returns. But it is pretty Waneta Cain who makes him want to stay...
Neeta is one of the few people in Hart County who doesn’t believe Mark is guilty of hurting anyone. However, his worldliness and tough exterior do make her uneasy. As she begins to see the real man behind all the gossip and prejudice, she wonders if he is the man for her. 
Just when Mark starts to believe a new life is possible, a close friend of Neeta’s is attacked. Once again, everyone in the community seems to believe he is guilty.  But what hurts most is Neeta’s sudden wariness around him. When another woman is hurt, a woman who is close to both Neeta and himself, Mark fears he knows the real culprit. And time is running out. Will Mark be able to find him before Neeta becomes his next victim?

I love reading and sharing my latest book with readers like you. I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. I am friends with many authors and also have a client relationship with many of them. This book may be one I received from a current or future client. Regardless of my relationship with the author, this review reflects my honest opinions of the book. For more information view my full disclaimer policy.

Suspense meets the Amish in Shelley Shepard Gray’s latest installment in her Amish of Hart County series, His Guilt. After reading the first book in this series and thoroughly enjoying the mix of Amish and suspense, I was highly anticipating the release of His Guilt.

In this story we read a suspenseful tale of Mark Fisher who returns to Hart Country, which is his hometown. He has a past that many people know about, so his return isn’t exactly welcome. The thing is, he was wrongly accused of assault two years ago.

Neeta works at a local greenhouse. She enjoys her job. Mark ends up getting a job at there, which forces Neeta and Mark to work together. While Neeta doesn’t think Mark is guilty, many others do, which causes some pain for Neeta as she begins to fall for Mark.

To twist the story, a close friend of Neeta’s is attacked, which stirs up even more suspicion of Mark. While Neeta trusted Mark, she becomes wary around him. As you can imagine, this hurts Mark.

Overall, this was a quick and engaging read. I enjoyed the tension between Neeta and Mark. The story dealt with forgiveness and prejudice. My heart went out to Mark as he was accused of something he didn’t do. On top of that, new incidents happened that made it look like he was no good and was causing problems again. I also enjoyed the greenhouse in the story. While it was a very minor part of the story, it was a nice setting for the scenes.

Purchase From:

AmazonWalmartTargetBooks A MillionThe Book DepositoryBarnes & Noble